Fort Fairfield News
Fort Fairfield High School holds reunions | Print |
Wednesday, 21 September 2016 08:37
SH FFHSCLASS1961 38 16 18687403

Contributed photo/Richard K. Nichols

Fort Fairfield High School’s Class of 1961 gathered at the Aroostook Valley Country Club recently for their 55th class reunion. At the event are, from left, front row: Pat Nelson, JoAnn Levasseur Dunphy, Sadie Corey Bernard, Carolyn Dorsey Chapelle, James Morehouse and Wayne Devine. Back row: George Archer, Gene Cassidy, Ralph Hill, Rick Peterson, Richard Lord and Dave Michaud.

















SH FFHSCLASS1996 38 16 18687529

Contributed photo/Richard K. Nichols

The Fort Fairfield High School Class of 1996 recently held their 20th reunion. Enjoying the evening are, from left, front row: David Bernard, Thomas Deschane, Chris Schwartz and Mark Saccucci. Middle row: unidentified guest; Christine St. Pierre, Kerri Barnes Knox, Amy Burtchell Murchison, Amanda Armstrong Swanberg, Lindsay Beckwith Rosario, Eve Raymond Bull and Karen McDougal. Back row: David Osterblom, Ian Hyslop, Jonathan Nichols, Amanda Murchison, Donnie DeMerchant, Nicole Bouchard Solomon, Joe Solomon, April Whitmore Tessier and Kim McCrea Dorsey.

FFHS Class of 1971 reunites | Print |
Wednesday, 21 September 2016 08:33
SH FFHSCLASS1971 38 16 18687209

Contributed photo/Richard K. Nichols

Members of the Fort Fairfield High School Class of 1971 held their 45th class reunion recently. At the gathering are, from left, front row: Daryl Bouchard, Ronald Doughty, Maynard Saucier and Tom Chasse. Second row (seated): Sherry Cyr Hannan, Donna Bernard Greenlaw, Susan George Russell, Glenna Sullivan Russell, Susan Rider Parent, Cathy Nelson Klum, Maxine Foss Hathaway, Diane Cox Miller, Connie Levesque Nisonger, Joanne Amsden Yestramski, Dick Amsden, Sally Schwartz Armstrong and Colleen Murchison Klump. Third row: Bill Deschesne, Bridget Burtchell Mooney, Lynn Murphy Billings, Colleen Higgins Stevens, Susan Libby Rasmussen, Ann Edgecomb Kurte, Delbert Finnemore, Diane Russell Brissette, Crystal Hand Friedman, Sandra Burtchell, Jane Bouchard Kennedy, Lorraine Kimball Maguire, Henry Gorneault and Mike Tremblay. Back row: Oscar Argraves, Mark Nehring, Kent Billings, Peter Bennett, Wendell Fowler, Tim McNamee, Mike Levesque, Bob Dorsey and Wesley Lovely.

Town plans road closure Sept. 28 | Print |
Wednesday, 14 September 2016 08:41

     FORT FAIRFIELD — The Town of Fort Fairfield Public Works Department will replace a cross-culvert on the Sam Everett Road, near 38 Sam Everett Road, on Wednesday morning, Sept. 28.

Register to
Fort landfill gets watershed grant | Print |
Wednesday, 27 July 2016 10:15
By Anthony Brino
Star-Herald Staff

     FORT FAIRFIELD — The Tri-Community Recycling and Sanitary Landfill in Fort Fairfield will receive a $94,700 grant to restore a former wetland at its property.

Register to
Maine Potato Blossom Festival a success | Print |
Wednesday, 27 July 2016 07:52


Varied Musical performances round out popular attractions

     FORT FAIRFIELD — Much like its namesake crop, the Maine Potato Blossom Festival continues to grow in size, style and substance. With more than 100 events spread out over 10 days, this year’s event drew crowds of all ages.

SHAR BLOSSOMFEST6 29 16 18096753

Contributed photo/Maine Potato Blossom Festival - Tim Goff

The Potato Blossom Festival is all about agricultural heritage, and the potato picking contest lets kids of all ages scramble to fill their baskets "the way it used to be" -- by hand. Scott Carlin (with stopwatch), owner of Hillside IGA, times two of the competitors at the July 14 event.  

Register to